GDN - a network of the world's leading design organizations


German Innovation Awards 2019: Awards Ceremony in Berlin


The aim of the German Innovation Awards by the German Design Council is to shine a light on ground-breaking innovations, and to provide a public stage for their creators. On 28 May 2019, the network exhibition at the German Museum of Technology in Berlin provided a perfect setting for the prize-giving ceremony.
Over 350 chosen guests from industry, politics and the media attended the event to celebrate the 36 winners of the Gold title as they took to the stage to claim their awards. The prestigious titles „Gold“, „Winner“ and „Special Mention“ were awarded in 40 competition categories, as well as the supplementary category „Design Thinking“.
Impressions from the awards ceremony can be found at:
German Design Council – the organiser
The German Design Council is one of the world’s leading centres of expertise in communication and knowledge transfer within the design, branding and innovation sectors. Its Foundation currently numbers more than 300 companies among its members. The German Design Council was founded in 1953, at the initiative of the German Federal Parliament, to support and enhance design expertise in the German economy. It pursues a wide range of activities with a single goal: to promote awareness of how to increase brand value on a sustained basis through the strategic use of design.

> Details

Join the German Design Awards 2020


The German Design Awards is the German Design Council's premium international prize and is one of the world's most renowned design competitions. At the German Design Awards, recognition is given exclusively to projects that are groundbreaking in the German and international design landscape. This is assured by an international jury made up of leading figures from all the design disciplines. Success in this competition is highly visible.

The registration phase ends on 10 July 2019.
The competition categories
The competition rewards the best entries in the categories “Excellent Product Design”, “Excellent Communications Design” and the new category, “Excellent Architecture”. In each of these categories, participants will register under the appropriate sub-category. There is also a supplementary category, “Universal Design”, which rewards projects that feature outstanding barrier-free usability, flexibility of application and user-intuitiveness. In addition, for the first time the new sub-category “Service Design” will reward non-visible service offers and processes that incorporate special features designed to create a positive experience for the customer.

Fort further information and participation documents, please visit:

> Details

New Link

© COPYRIGHT 2020 FHKDA |Contact us